October 19-24, 2015

Piano Competition FacebookPiano Competition YoutubePiano Competition Twitter

Piano Competition

Gregory Wang

United States

Gregory Wang is a laureate of the 2011 International Russian Music Competition and 2013 MTNA Steinway & Sons Young Artist Competition.  He holds degrees from both the Oberlin College Conservatory and Jacobs School at Indiana University, and he has earned the highest recognition from both institutions.  For his musical and academic success at Oberlin, he was selected to perform an original transcription of Stravinsky’s Petrouchka at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., followed by a solo recital in the home of the Cleveland Orchestra, Severance Hall.  He has also received a grant to record four-hand works of Maurice Ravel with his former teacher Peter Takács.  Now an Artist Diploma candidate under Jean-Louis Haguenauer at the Jacobs School at Indiana University, he was recently awarded the prestigious and rare Performer’s Certificate, the school’s highest performing honor.


First Round
J.S. Bach Prelude and Fugue No.22 in B-flat minor, BWV867 , WTC I
Chopin Etude in A-flat Major, Op.25 No.1
Debussy Etudes: 1 Pour les cinq doigts (d’après Monsieur Czerny), 11. Pour les arpèges composes
Ravel Gaspard de la nuit: Scarbo

Semifinal Round
Chopin Nocturnes Op.27: no.1 in C-sharp minor,No.2 In D-flat Major
J.S. Bach Overture in the French Style in B minor, BWV 831
Stravinsky Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka

Final Round
Beethoven Concerto No.4 in G Major, Op.58

Copyright © 2011 Louisiana International Piano Competition. All rights reserved.

Piano Competition FacebookPiano Competition YoutubePiano Competition Twitter

Webmail Login | Site Design by: Bedhead Creative